Mauna Lani Set To Host Hawai'i State Open

Mauna Lani Set To Host Hawai'i State Open

Posted on December 14, 2017

All eyes will be on Mauna Lani Resort as they host the Hawaii State Open December 15 17 on the propertys beautiful and challenging North and South Courses. Held by the Aloha Section PGA, this years Hawaii State Open features a field that includes Hawaii Golf Hall of Famers, top professionals and amateurs.

First played in 1920 as the Hawaiian State Open, the event eventually became a PGA TOUR stop known as the Hawaiian Open. In 1976, the Aloha Section PGA revived the event as the ultimate golf championship for professionals and amateurs with the purpose of determining the best golfer in the islands. The tournament draws a field of 186 male and female players from across the state, U.S. mainland and other countries and has a total purse of $60,000.

In the Mens Open division, TJ Esaki-Kua returns to defend his title against a field of past champions and young professionals, including Dean Wilson (champion in 2007, 2012, 2014), Nick Mason (2015, 2013, 2008), Tadd Fujikawa (2010), Sam Cyr (2011) and Kevin Hayashi (2009, 2000, 2001).

In the Senior Open division, the field includes PGA TOUR and Japan PGA Tour member David Ishii. Ishii is a five-time winner of the event, including the Mens Open champion in 1980, 1984, 1985 and Senior Open champion in 2010 and 2011. Ishii is joined in the Senior Open division by PGA TOUR and PGA Champions Tour players Scott Simpson, Mike Reid, David Eichelberger and Jeff Coston.

For more information on the Hawaii State Open, visit

For more information on Mauna Lani Resort, visit or call 808-885-6622. For tee times, group outings or more information on Mauna Lani Golf visit or call 808-885-6655.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now