UTSA Wins Team, Individual Titles At Wyoming Cowboy Classic

The UTSA Roadrunners came from behind to win the 16th Annual Wyoming Cowboy Classic at Whirlwind Golf Club on Tuesday, carding a final-round 282 (-6) to win by four strokes at 842 (-22). UTSA’s Sean Meehan signed for a 68 (-4) on Tuesday to earn the individual title with a 54-hole total of 205 (-11). Meehan edged McNeese State’s Blake Elliott by one stroke.

Two of Meehan’s Roadrunner teammates, Zander Lozano and Michael Rome, finished tied for 11th place overall at 212 (-4) to help UTSA to victory. The Sam Houston State Bearkats, who held the team lead after the first day of competition, fired a final-round 289 (+1) to take second place behind UTSA.

Host Wyoming took third place just one stroke back of SHSU after posting the best third-round team score at 280 (-8) to finish with a tournament total of 847 (-17). Wyoming was led by John Murdock and Arron Lickteig, who each finished tied for third place with 54-hole totals of 209 (-7). Long Beach State and UC Davis rounded out the top five teams, each finishing with a team score of 854 (-10).

Utah State’s Colten Cordingley had the best individual showing on Tuesday, posting a final-round 67 (-5). A 64 (-8) by McNeese State’s Ian Berrigan in Monday afternoon’s round held up as the best individual single-round score of the tournament.

In all, the 89 players in the tournament averaged a score of 73.20 (+1.20) on Whirlwind’s Cattail Course. Eight of 15 teams finished under par for the tournament. UC Davis, Cal State Fullerton and Utah State each moved up three spots on the team leaderboard on Tuesday after strong final rounds. Final results for the tournament are available at Golfstat.com.